League of Women Voters of Nevada 2015 Convention Update

League Supporters:
The League of Women Voters Of Nevada met June 13th in Las Vegas for our biennial Convention. We elected a new state board, honored two legislators, and discussed plans for the next two years.
Our new League of Women Voters of Nevada State Board is:
President: Janice Browne
1st Vice President: Sondra Cosgrove
2nd Vice President: Beverly Abderrahman
Secretary: Jean Laird
Treasurer: Ann Marie Smith
Kathleen Bienenstein
Frances Rust
Nancy Scott
Betty Pardo
Grace Mills
Denise Gerdes
 We discussed the need to recognize political leaders who promote and practice good governance and possibly hosting a Good Governance event after each legislative session to celebrate political leaders who prioritize the greater good.   At the meeting we recognized Chair of the Assembly Taxation Committee, Assemblyman Derek Armstrong, and Assembly Minority Leader, Assemblywoman Marilyn Kirkpatrick, for their efforts this session.
We will be sending letters of recognition to the many other legislators who ensured that Nevada is an exception, not the rule, this year.
The State Board will be meeting over the summer for a strategy session to prioritize issues and align our budget with our priorities. We are already looking toward the upcoming 2016 election and the 2017 legislative session and hope all Nevadans will take this opportunity to register to vote at: www.Vote411.org
If you are not yet a member of the League of Women Voters Of Las Vegas Valley, please join now and support our work:
For the latest news updates:
Please follow us on Twitter at: @LWVLVV
Please like our Facebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/pages/League-of-Women-Voters-of-Las-Vegas-Valley/156257151058459
 Sondra Cosgrove

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s